Featured Author
A Taste of Honey
A collection of excerpts
from our Authors



Please help keep
this site free


Archived Interviews #6

Jack Marshall

From Baghdad to Brooklyn Marshall

Jack Marshall was born in 1936 in Brooklyn, New York. After graduating from public high school, worked in the New York garment district, then traveled in the mid-west and south, taking various odd jobs along the way. At 19, shipped out as a deckhand on a Norwegian freighter to West Africa.

Returned to New York, worked on 42nd Street, attended night classes in poetry with Stanley Kunitz and Robert Lowell, and moved to the Lower East Side, taking part in the growing poetry scene there. Married, then, in 1968, moved with family to San Francisco. First book, The Darkest Continent published in 1967 by Donald Phelps's For Now Press, followed by Bearings (Harper & Row, 1970) and Floats (Cedar Creek Press, 1971). Was invited to teach in the Iowa Writer's Workshop from 1969-1971, then at the U.S. International University in San Diego, 1972-1974. Returned to San Francisco. Bits of Thirst  published by Blue Wind Press, 1976. Arriving on the Playing Fields of Paradise (Jazz Press, 1983), winner of the Bay Area Book Reviewers Award, the next three books published by Coffee House Press: Arabian Nights (1987), Sesame (1993), winner of PEN West Award and finalist for National Book Critics Circle Award, and Millennium Fever (1996). Chaos Comics, a chapbook, published by Pennywhistle Press, 1994. He lives in the San Francisco Bay Area.

The Steel Veil


Jack Marshall was awarded the PEN West Award and was also a finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award, for his novel From Baghdad to Brooklyn. He was awarded a Guggenheim fellowship for his work of selected poems calledGorgeous Chaos, in 2008.

He is also the author of 12 books of poetry, the latest called The Steel Veil.

Thomas Kennedy

Riding the Dog

Thomas E.Kennedy

Thomas E. Kennedy was born in New York City in 1944 under the sign of the Fish and grew up in Elmhurst and Jackson Heights, pretending he was Tom Sawyer in the Flushing Meadow swamp, catching guppies in Hellmann's jars, paying a nickel to pass through the turnstile into LaGuardia Airport so he could stand on the exterior observation deck and watch the propeller-driven airliners lifting slowly into the sky as he dreamed of far-off places.

This is list of some of Thomas Kennedy's books.

Writers on the Job: Tales of the Nonwriting Life (essays, Co-editor with Walter Cummins). Titusville, NJ: Hopewell Publications, July 2008.

Riding the Dog: A Look Back at America (essays). Fort Collins, CO: New American Press, October 2008.

Cast Upon the Day (stories). Titusville, NJ: Hopewell Publications, August 2007.

A Passion in the Desert (novel). LaGrande: Wordcraft of Oregon, April 2007.

The Literary Traveler (nonfiction, Co-author with Walter Cummins). Washington, DC: Del Sol Press, 2005.

The Copenhagen Quartet, a four-novel cycle consisting of:

    * Danish Fall. Galway: Wynkin de Worde, 2005

    * Greene's Summer. Galway: Wynkin de Worde, 2004

    * Bluett's Blue Hours. Galway: Wynkin de Worde, 2003

Kerrigan's Copenhagen, A Love Story. Galway: Wynkin de Worde, 2002

Realism & Other Illusions: Essays on the Craft of Fiction (nonfiction). LaGrande, Oregon: Wordcraft, 2002.

Thomas Kennedy - In the Company of Angels

About his Copenhagen Quartet, Frank magazine wrote, in awarding Kennedy the Frank Expatriate Writing Award in 2002: "Kennedy has done for Copenhagen what Joyce did for Dublin."

GREENE'S SUMMER (published in 2004 by Wynkin de Worde, Galway, Ireland)

This is the third novel in my so-called COPENHAGEN QUARTET -- four independent novels about the seasons and souls of the Danish capital. The four books can be read in any order and each stands on its own, although I believe that the four combine to form a whole. Each novel is set in a different season and each concerns different characters and is written in a different style. The first is a kind of experimental romance, a novel disguised as a guide to the bars of Copenhagen entitled KERRIGAN'S COPENHAGEN, A LOVE STORY (2002), the 2nd is a noir tale of jazz, sex, booze and violence entitled BLUETT'S BLUE HOURS (2003), the third is GREENE'S SUMMER (see below), and the fourth is a satire about twelve people working for a down-sizing Danish organization, entitled DANISH FALL (2005).

This group of novels has received a certain amount of attention in Europe even though they have not actually been published in North America and are available in the US only on Amazon as far as I know -- oddly, though, they have been written about in American literary magazines and newspapers, cited as notable books of the year in which they were published by the CAPE COD VOICE, KANSAS CITY STAR, etc (and most recently with essays in SOUTH CAROLINA REVIEW, NEW LETTERS, PERIGEE: PUBLICATION FOR THE ARTS, THE LITERARY REVIEW, and forthcoming in CIMARRON REVIEW). They have also been the subject of a DVD documentary film, COPENHAGEN QUARTET, produced by Harper College in Illinois (which is just now completing a similar film on T. C. Boyle) and were the subject of a 75-minute panel discussion at the Annual Conference of the AWP (Association of Writers & Writing Programs) in Atlanta in 2007. Both GREENE'S SUMMER and DANISH FALL also won Eric Hoffer Book Awards in 2007 so, although they are only barely available and have never been published in North America, they have an audience (potential North American publishers take note please!)

Riding the Dog: A Look Back at America is a collection of essays that were originally published in New Letters magazine of the University of Missouri, Kansas City. Three of the essays also received honorable mention in the Pushcart Prize, and one was republished in the anthology, New American Essays.


L.A. Marzulli

Politics Prophecy & the Supernatural


Politics, Prophecy, & the Supernatural is a hard-hitting exposé of current events, ancient prophecy, and ongoing supernatural occurrences that if they intersect each other, as Marzulli predicts, startling implications could be in store for every man and woman on Earth. L. A. Marzulli has done his homework. His perceptive analysis of current events, backed with a concise understanding of scripture and history, has produced a tool for rightly dividing the Bible prophecy so desperately needed in our age. This is an essential addition to any eschatological library. He is also the author of a trilogy of books, Nephilim, The Unholy Deception and The Revealing.

Dr. Lynn Marzulli lives in Malibu, California.

6. There were giants in the earth in those days; and also after that, when the sons of God came in unto the daughters of men, and they bare children to them, the same became mighty men which were of old, men of renown.

5. And GOD saw that the wickedness of man was great in the earth, and that every imagination of the thoughts of his heart was only evil continually." King James Bible